Crayfish/Crawfish


I was driving down Pacific highway heading back towards west high street. I saw a sticker on the back of a SUV which had a crayfish on it with a blurb about Tuggerah. For those who don’t know the location it’s on the Central coast of New South Wales not far from Gosford.
My mouth watered as I was taken back in my mind to my hometown of Leesville, Louisiana where we’d go to get all you can eat boiled crawfish at the Catfish Junction. I can almost taste it as I type this on my iPhone. This spicy treat with hush puppies was a Lenten favorite of mine. When Adam first came to visit me I took him there to try it.
It’s funny how when you travel to different countries & they do their spin on a dish. It often doesn’t live up to what you remember. It’s made for the local palate. Every time I see Cajun or blackened I scoff because
it’s not what I am used too. Even if it says authentic I wonder because I had an aunt who made beautiful gumbos as well as étouffée which outshines the fares I’ve tasted in Australia. I can feel blessed that I know what it should be like & not an interpretation. I know this sounds prejudicial. I can’t help how I feel. I think Adam would concur with me.
There’s nothing like a bumper sticker to make the mind go on a journey or remember something to make you smile.

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on April 2, 2014, in Narrative, Random, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just the word “crawfish” makes my mouth water like a Pavlovian dog to the sound of a bell. I need a crawfish boil!

Leave a Reply

