Sounds of Summer


I know the majority of my readers live in the northern hemisphere. For the majority of my life, I too lived there. Now that I live in the Southern Hemisphere I get to have seasons opposite of what I grew up with. While you are freezing, I get to enjoy the summer. When you get to enjoy your summer, I get to endure winter which is fair enough.
Now to the title of this blog which is the sounds of summer which I hope will at least get you focused on warm things. When I hear cicadas I know it’s going to be a warm day. Today there are several different types calling. I love the different varieties around where I live. Even in Louisiana I heard them in the summer along with crickets. Another sound of summer would be evening thunderstorms. We haven’t gotten much of those lately but growing up in Louisiana it happened often. There could also be heat lightning. People splashing in their pools are another sound I enjoy listening to.
Today though I hear the cicadas and I relish the sound knowing its summer. I won’t have to worry about the cold creeping back around until June.

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on January 9, 2014, in Narrative, nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Here in South East Queensland we’ve been getting our fair share of storms lately.
    What part of Australia are you in?

Leave a Reply

