Monthly Peace Challenge: Love Thy Enemy


It’s that time of the month again. It used to be so dang easy for me to meet these challenges that Kozo Hattori put out but as 2013 comes closer to an end, he has ramped up the challenge in the best possible ways. I don’t know how he does it, but I am just grateful that I have found him. He inspires me and really gets me thinking. This month’s challenge though he wants us to write about loving thy enemy.

I have two things to share with you. Please bare in mind that I do like to write poetry/songs. I was trying to compose music to go with the song I have written but time is not on my side and I am wasting precious time trying to do it. My songs often just come to me as melody and words. I can hear it so clearly in my mind. You will have to forgive me for singing a capella but I am not a gifted pianist yet.

There is a story I must share with you to explain about my song which I have entitled  “Leads Back To You”. It’s about two young girls about to reach puberty. This story is part of my life and has helped to form me. When I first met Jenny Schultz, I was riding the school bus to school. Jenny and her brother, Johnny, lived further down Vernon Lake Road in a trailer park not far from Vernon Lake Spillway which was at the end of Vernon Lake Road. I don’t know why we at first didn’t like each other. She would get on the bus snarl in my direction with a most disagreeable glare and bark at Judy and myself. I think I was in year 5 and she was year 6. Judy was in year 8 and always looked after me because that is what my older sister always does when it comes to me.

Everybody always loved sitting on the very back seat of the bus. It was a huge competition to get back there before it got taken. Maybe it was the fact that Judy and I often were sitting on the back seat that got under Jenny and Johnny’s skin so much. We did live closer to the beginning of the road then the Shultzes in the morning pick up. The trailer park was at the end of Vernon Lake Road. It really doesn’t matter what it was that put us against each other but the fact is, some how we became friends.

They just moved to Vernon Lake Road and starting riding Bus 4 when this animosity between us started.  I just know when I was in the sixth grade, I actually decided to try to change the mood between us. It was a hot day. The bus was getting pretty overcrowded by the time it came to pick me up at Vernon Elementary. Johnny had been held back the year before. We were never in the same class but I was aware that the Shultzes didn’t like us Miller girls very much. On this hot day with the bus overcrowded, I moved over so that Jenny could have a seat. She looked exhausted and her school bag weighed her down. She was hesitant at first but the load of what she was carrying must have over took her reservation because she accepted the offer to sit down.

I tentatively introduced myself and she looked at me stunned. I offered my hand to shake and she refused. When my sister noticed that Jenny was sitting beside me, she thought I was insane. Judy was sitting with Nancy and Tammy if I recall and couldn’t believe that I was trying to make friends with her. We didn’t say very much to each other but a seed had been planted.

A couple of days later, Judy was sick and I got one of the back seats. I waved to Jenny when she got on and motioned for her to come join me. We began a friendship then. I learned about her and her brother. He had a learning disability and she had a kidney condition that often made her sick. She was going to dialysis often. Kids on the bus thought we were an odd pair.

Assumptions are often the things that lead to distrust and fear but if we confront the fear and are brave enough to take a risk, to let someone in, it will pay off big time. Jenny and I lost contact ages ago but I often think of her. She helped me be a better person. She helped me break out of my shyness shell. I am so glad that I decided to break the ice because I discovered a really wonderful friend.

She moved from Vernon Lake Road and ended up staying with a lady from a church that she attended. She married the lady’s son when she was 15 and had a baby. They moved to Alexandria or Pineville but I will never forget Jenny. Jenny is the inspiration for the song I wrote for this peace challenge.

I would like to thank my husband, Adam, for editing the song for me which I recorded this afternoon.  He’s another great blessing in my life! I will have to rerecord this to a better job but I really wanted to put it out there in time for the month of November.

Related articles:

http://everydaygurus.com/2013/10/31/monthly-peace-challenge-love-thy-enemy/

http://everydaygurus.com/2013/11/27/letter-to-my-enemy-within/

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on November 28, 2013, in Music, Narrative, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love the song, love the story. Love the a cappella. LIke I said in your other post, “Preach On, Dianna.” Thank you for this lovely post for peace. You are one special person to befriend an enemy in the back of the bus. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

Leave a Reply

