Yellow Wattle and Mimosas


Pink Mimosa my favorite wattle from childhood.

Pink Mimosa my favorite wattle from childhood.

Australian yellow wattle Adam's favorite wattle

Australian yellow wattle Adam’s favorite wattle

It never ceases to amaze me how much Adam and I have in common even though we grew up in different hemispheres. When I grew up in Louisiana, the pink mimosa were always blooming around late May to June right around the time my birthday came along and even until Judy’s birthday which is July 8. Now the pink mimosa that I see around Australia are blooming in late spring to early summer which would be November until January. When I saw the mimosa blooming towards the back of the house we bought in Werrington back in 2005 I knew it was a sign for me. If you are new to following my blog, you will find out that I am a believer of signs.

When I first came to Australia, I asked Adam which scent did he love the most. He told me the yellow wattle which is pictured above. I love the yellow wattle as well. It blooms from June until around August. I always saw it blooming everywhere we went during my first visit to this land I now call home. It tickles me that we both have affection for the wattle. They are related even though it might be somewhat distant and bloom around the time of my birthday even if it’s in different hemispheres. It always brings a smile to my dial when I think of the mimosa and the yellow wattle.

The wonder and beauty of nature always astounds me. If I can draw or see a connection, I will be the first to admit it. Perhaps it’s the hopeless romantic in me. There is no shame in admission. Do you have any connections that you make that you take as signs? If so, please share!

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Narrative, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. prayingforoneday

    The only connection I can say I have like this, and you girls are more Romantic Remember 🙂
    It would be the smell from Dawn’s perfume..
    I know it is TOTALLY different. But she wears the same brand (£60 A BOTTLE FFS AND ITS TINY(
    This smell I love…
    When I smell it, I feel love..

    That count?

    lol

    ps

    Please, Please, Please accept this Award..
    And I will buy you cake at the shop
    http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/unique-leaves-award-2/
    If you have it already showing in your blog, simply go back to where you put it
    and put Awarded x2 below it in “Caption” in Widgets in your Dashboard where you pull Image over
    to show these Awards. Also enter the URL by Copying the URL from the Award I have given you.

    Thank you
    Shaun
    ps: If you do not accept award, can you PLEASE give this to someone else.
    If you do, can you let me know you accepted it. Cheers

Leave a Reply

