Thank You and Rhythm Nation


You know for the longest time, I thought to myself, that Rhythm Nation by Janet Jackson was such an excellent song. About a month ago, I was listening to Pandora Radio and heard Thank You by Sly and the Family Stone. I know this has probably been raised about a thousand times already but isn’t it funny how music was sampled.  Sly and the Family Stone made Thank You back in 1969.

Rhythm Nation was written by Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis and Janet Jackson in 1989. It could be said that it is an original work but listen closely to the bass line.

Maybe they unconsciously chose to use the same sort of bass line. Maybe I am imagining things but all I have to say is thank you Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis, and Janet Jackson for thinking of making this song which highlighted another musical genius. I have always had a great love of funk ever since I was a child. I am always going to have a soft spot in my heart for this genre.

I know there is a lot of music sampling going on today. It has been going on throughout time I suspect but I can thank Pandora Radio for opening up my ears and alerting me to this little treasure!

If you can find anything that you think is similar please feel free to link it in the comments. Cheers!

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Music, Narrative and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I totally hear the similarity! Janet’s seems like the same notes and pacing with the notes doubled up. I ❤ funk! I have a few various artist CDs of just funk, but I can't say I know much beyond that. Great songs!

Leave a Reply

