Empowerment Through A Little Thing


To say I am floating on cloud 9 is a bit of an understatement. I really can’t go into a lot of details about this but I am really pleased with something that I got to experience with Adam, Lenny, and Guide Dog Instructor Doug Ritchie. In previous posts I have tried to convey how frustrated I have been with Lenny’s dog distraction. I felt pretty inept about trying to help both my hubby and his guide dog in these sorts of situations. Today though, I feel so empowered. It wasn’t anything earth shattering but Doug gave me some great tools to help my hubby and Lenny work together better as a team. It’s still a long road ahead for them. I am sure though if we all work as a team that we will be victorious. 

You can learn so much sometimes just through the power of observation. It was terrific getting feedback from an expert. We aren’t sure if this will cure Lenny with his dog distraction but I feel better equipped when we come across the situation. I am sure that Adam in time will also feel more in control of the situation as we all use techniques that were shown to us.

We won’t be able to walk all the dogs together because it will make another dynamic for Lenny. Until we have a better idea of how to help Lenny and ourselves cope with the dogs, Mitch and Grady will have to be walked separately. I am also toying with the idea of trying some of the techniques on our own pets for behaviours that I want to instill in them. I think I will get more fit from all the walking we will be doing which is a great added bonus. It’s going to be very interesting.

I always think to myself that sometimes it’s the little things that makes me the most happy. Today it was a little thing that made me feel empowered. I hope that you will find a little something that will empower you as well.

I will keep you updated through the blog about the dog distraction results as we progress.

Mitch trialing a water harness with Adam at Hyams Beach

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on May 30, 2013, in Narrative, Pet, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. prayingforoneday

    Brilliant.
    And you are right, and I KNOW Dawn will agree with you on this one. The small things are the things that mean so much to her helping me when I can’t walk or something.
    I think knowing you and I know Adam a little and how you talk off Adam, I think this will work. You sounded upbeat when we spoke and very upbeat on the blog here.
    Sometimes its better to KNOW it will work than HOPE it will work. For some reason, the results come better. Might just be my family and I in my house. Belief goes a long way.

    Great blog, good luck and please keep everyone updated. I know how important the Dog is to Adam and how much you love the dogs, so BELIEVE it will happen and it will.. Dogs sense stuff, and I find with dogs if you doubt they can feel it..

    Might me my medication or lack of sleep speaking here 🙂

    Shaun xx

Leave a Reply

