Mother’s Day


It’s Mother’s Day now in most places of the world. I mowed  the lawn today. I know that to some this may seem a sacrilege but to me it’s a way I choose to honour my mom and Adam’s mum because they are both gone now but they did love a tidy lawn.  I have mixed emotions on days like this because I can’t hug or call my mom anymore. Some days I feel her presence so close and other days I don’t feel her at all. Both our mum’s loved roses. I can remember buying rose bushes for my mom and planting them on Mother’s Day.

Mothers hold a very special place in our hearts. I know of some people who yearn to have a good relationship with their mother but I was a fortunate child. I was close to my mom. I watch my sisters with their child(ren) and I wish I had that sort of relationship too but it just wasn’t in the cards for me.

Some mothers foster love and others foster hate which is a very sad thing in my eyes. Maybe I should rephrase that, some mothers foster a twisted sort of love that creates fear and apprehension. I think that happens when they haven’t experienced a loving home themselves growing up but perhaps I am wrong and being too judgemental.

I can only be thankful that I had a wonderful mother who did the best for me and fostered a loving heart in me. She taught me some wonderful things and to be appreciative of the life that I have.

Thank you all the mothers in the world for teaching your children love to the best of your ability. May the Lord always bless you and guide you on your journey in this life.

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on May 12, 2013, in Narrative, nature, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. She certainly gave you a loving heart!

    Adam Morris

    email: adam@damorris.com

  2. Rev. Eddie Tatro

    I’m thankful that your Mother and God gave us you!

    Tag your it! http://bishoptatro.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/lets-try-some-fun-a-little-game/

Leave a Reply

