Recognizing The Grot In You


The other day on Facebook  I had mentioned that Adam had dubbed me the “Grot Girl”. One of my fellow WordPress family members suggested that I use this nickname for a blog. I want to do something light-hearted so I suppose it’s definition time for those who don’t know the meaning of grot.

A grot is a mess, trash, or dirt. It can have all sorts of connotations. When Adam addresses me as Grot Girl it’s normally because I end up spilling something on my shirt or something I am wearing. I called myself a grot in my post on Facebook because I had slipped getting my right side absolutely covered in mud. I even discovered it on my stomach when I had rinsed off to the best I could outside on the back deck.

I am pretty sure at one time or another you have been a grot. You might not like to admit it but it has happened. Maybe you have a phobia of being dirty but frankly, I don’t mind it.

I sort of looked a bit like the dirt bike in the beginning of the Christina Aguilera  video of Dirrty. 

If I or Adam had been singing the song it would have been grotty not dirty. The song probably wouldn’t have been a hit though if Adam had sung it. He just can’t swing his hips or carry a tune like Christina. I don’t have the body of Christina either but I can sing. One day, when I am feeling brave, I will let you guys hear me sing. I will let you guys off of this time and just tease you! I have a tendency to make up lyrics to songs anyways but let’s just imagine what it would be like singing grotty instead of dirty; try it sometime you might just like it!

After putting up two days of serious stuff I thought it good to share something fun! Actually, I needed a good laugh because honestly I was pretty weighed down there for a while. I was going to do a more serious blog but I decided against it because frankly, I don’t need to air my grot out there for everybody to see. Sometimes I want to embrace the grot in me but you guys really don’t need to see that ugly grot just the fun stuff so that is the option I took today.

I’d like to suggest the next time you want to play in the mud or something that will get you messy, think of me and recognize your grottiness! Hugs!

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on April 4, 2013, in humor, Narrative, Random, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. prayingforoneday

    Christina Aguilera IS BEAUTIFUL..Inside and out.
    I love a woman with morals like you, a woman who prides herself in being a “Woman” There is another song that I think is close here to what we talked about earlier. Some people need to realise this. 😉

    Beauty can be on the outside, but it is better on the inside.
    Well done with the blog by the way.. x

    • It is a beautiful song and she has a beautiful voice. I am probably heading offline shortly but hope to catch you later on!

      • prayingforoneday

        I CAN SEE YOU NOW!!!
        Whatever you did worked..and I now get emails..
        Smashing news…
        And yeah, PC off for the day here soon also.
        Got a few things to do with the Girls.

        And I got the blog…Truly.
        Speak soon..and better without the Green square, lol

      • I see the green thingy though oh well!

      • prayingforoneday

        Nah I am getting emails everytime you reply and I see your face there..All good at this end.. Maybe once you log in and out again?

        100% Worked at my end. x

      • As long as there’s a smile on your dial that works for me.

      • prayingforoneday

        Sometimes I smile, sometimes I cry.
        Right now I have two rouges jumping on me for attention. lol.
        Can’t want to get them dressed and do something.
        And you brought a smile to my dial.
        (That is a Scottish saying) Well played 🙂

      • I aim to please! Give your rogues a hug from me!

      • prayingforoneday

        Will do and beat the older ones up for me 🙂

  2. There is one way I can get you Grotty, but that will be for everyones imagination!

  3. Get da Grot out! Yeh, Yeh! Tee Hee!

  4. Woohoo! Hooray! I have a new word now! Yay grottiness! I love Christina! Hope you sing for us soon! I’m working up the courage as well!

Leave a Reply

