Kimberley, Western Australia Part Four Broome Deep Water Jetty/Cable Beach


Today’s blog I will be sharing the views I took in at Broome’s Deep Water Jetty and our adventure at Cable Beach. I feel a bit bad about how long it’s taken me to get back around to working on the Broome series but sometimes life has a funny way of side tracking your plans, at least that’s how it works with me. I can’t really speak for anyone else.

Adam and I visited had two or three lunches at the Deep Water Jetty cafe while we were in Broome. I enjoyed the view so much we returned a few times and even once at night so I could look at the stars with my binoculars. There were hardly any streetlights so I got a really nice view with out light pollution. Sorry, I didn’t take any pictures of the night sky. I really am not the best photographer! Here is two views of where we sat at the cafe from our table.

view from the side of where we sat

view from the side of where we sat

View looking towards the ocean

View looking towards the ocean

On the day that I took these pictures, we walked out to the jetty and I took the pictures as we walked back to the cafe. I write this to try to explain the order of the shots.Pictures 056 Pictures 057 Pictures 058 Pictures 059 Pictures 060 Pictures 061 Pictures 062 Pictures 063 Pictures 064 Pictures 065 Pictures 066 Pictures 067

I don’t think I am doing this jetty much justice. I am not used to doing travel blogs. I feel as if I am floundering a bit but I want to share some of the things I have seen and experienced with others who haven’t the money or opportunity to travel.

Another place we frequented was Cable Beach. We took a camel ride at sunset as the tourist centre suggested. There are many camel ride operators for the beach and booking is essential. I can’t remember the one that we chose since it’s been 6 years since we did the trip. I can tell you that we really enjoyed the ride. We actually got to ride not only on the beach but back behind the dunes where they keep the camels. I believe it was longer than some of the ones that were offered. I am certain that it was highly recommended by the tourist bureau. I am glad we took their advice because they were very knowledgable and it was family operated.   I would say a camel ride on Cable beach is definitely a great thing to do! It’s not like riding a horse at all. It’s sort of side to side movement to the hips and not front to back.

 

Our camel

Our camel

Sunset on cable beach

Sunset on cable beach

a straighter view of sunset on cable beach

a straighter view of sunset on cable beach

The camel guide took our picture

The camel guide took our picture

Moon rising

Moon rising

another shot of the moon rising

another shot of the moon rising

A picture of our guide and the camel ahead of us. We were on the 3rd camel in the procession.

A picture of our guide and the camel ahead of us. We were on the 3rd camel in the procession.

foliage I saw on the walk not sure why I chose to take this shot.

foliage I saw on the walk not sure why I chose to take this shot.

Saying goodnight to our ride.

Saying goodnight to our ride.

My Kimberley blogs are coming to a close soon. I think there will be maybe two more posts. Thanks for reading and putting up with my gallery. I am still not used to expressing myself with photos but I will get it down pat one day. Until next time, have a great day!

 

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on March 4, 2013, in Narrative, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

