Kimberley, Western Australia Part Three Gantheaume Point


There are so many things you can do in Broome. Broome isn’t a really big city. It still has a wild west feel to it. Yes, I am meaning like the American Wild West to some extent. There is a pristine feel to it. This town was once a boom town with the pearling industry. You can learn about it at the museum in the town and even explore the pearling boats on display. It has character. There is even an open air theatre which plays movies on Carnarvon St. You can walk around easily or take a cab but we still had our rental.

While in Broome Adam and I stayed at the Roebuck Bay Hotel. It has share accommodation as well as rooms with en suite which is the option that Adam and I took. We love our private bathroom. We explored the area by foot as well as by rental.

Gantheaume Point was breathtaking. I can’t get over the contrast in colours that I saw. There were displays at Gantheaume Point which explained about the history of the point at the car park. There is a path that leads out to the lighthouse and you can explore as much or as little as you like.

Pictures 045Pictures 047 Pictures 048 Pictures 049 Pictures 050

Lighthouse at G Point

Lighthouse at Gantheaume Point

One of my fave shots at the point. Look at the bird!

My fave shot with the bird perched on the sandstone.

Even looking back now at the trip we took, I can’t get over how beautiful as well as contrasting the colours were. There was also dinosaur fossil to see but I never did get my timing right.

 My next blog will be on the deep water jetty. Hope you enjoyed what I shared!

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on February 27, 2013, in Narrative, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

