Connecting to others and the ways we use them (connections)


I just saw this post on a friend’s Facebook page and had to share it because this is one way I thought I could evangelize about the goodness I have found in the Lord. I am Christian and Roman Catholic but sometimes, I do not follow every single teaching the Holy Church preaches. It doesn’t make me a bad person.

I truly believe that God has given us free will to worship Him as we are called to do. For me, the closest connection I feel with God is through Mass. Sometimes though, you can find the most amazing people and make connections to them which also brings you closer to God.

I am an avid gamer. I play a game called World Of Warcraft and have met some really wonderful people through this game. I know of one priest who says that being involved with gaming is a distraction from God but I don’t follow that line of thinking because sometimes I learn more or draw people closer to God. Some may say that’s a stretch but I really feel this way.

Also, I am on Facebook daily to stay in touch with my family. I have found my soul sister who was my roomie in college through Facebook which I would have never had done. I play games on Facebook too and found wonderful people who love sharing too. I had joined twitter to use as a tool for evangelization yet I find I am on Facebook the most.

One of the reasons I started blogging was through a round about way from Facebook as well. I had met this fellow who had seen a picture of me in front of my nephew’s corvette and wrote to me. (I had used the pic as my public profile picture) He was very complementary to me saying how charming I looked. We began writing back and forth. I was straight forward about being married. Somehow he wasn’t getting the fact in but I enjoyed writing to him. Around Christmas he stopped writing to me. I guess the fact finally sunk in that I was happily married. He was a very lovely man. He had such a love of God and I just wanted to be a friend but he was seeking something from me that I couldn’t give him to his satisfaction. I miss talking with him but when he wrote to me it was all about his undying love for me. I had to constantly say that I was already married. Friendship was the only thing I could offer. The poem that I put up on WordPress was for him but I don’t think he will ever get to see it. I am not going to start writing to him again because I hate the idea of tormenting a person.

God has given me a love of sharing. I saw a post my niece, Cassie Olson, did through blogspot. I thought to myself, instead of writing to this guy, I can start my own blog which is what I did. I discovered WordPress too but find WordPress much easier to use so I stopped blogging on blogspot. I pretty much just blog here now. I am finding lots of new blogs to read which inspire me and am making great friends.

I realize this post is a bit rambly but think these thoughts had to be shared. I will leave you with one of my favorite songs from church that spoke volumes to me. I am dedicating this to three special WordPress bloggers as well:  dreamingforbetter, Eyes Wide Open, and Megan메간 this song is for you! Enjoy and be blessed!

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on February 21, 2013, in Music, Narrative, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. dreamingforbetter

    The song was good.
    And I like the blog.
    Wordpress for me also is a wonderful experience.
    So many differing people, and that is good.
    When surrounded by too much of the same people, things can get boring.
    So different is good.

    Great Blog !!

    Shaun x

  2. dreamingforbetter

    I knew I had commented. lol
    Your last two blogs, I can’t click onto or comment on.
    I had to subscribe to your site. That may have been a reason.
    I will log in then out, see what that does.
    Many have WordPress set so you have to Subscribe.
    It is a safer way.

    Least I can speak here and have before 🙂

    Shaun

  3. I wouldn’t worry much about what the institutional religious organizations think. Follow the truth. Jesus was and is the most anti-religious figure in existence. Since he is the one way get to heaven, I,d rather follow his example. When you really get to studying his word, you begin to learn there is a whole lot more than what is taught in sunday school. Life in Christ goes far beyond the simple platitudes dished out at a typical sunday sermon. As God has promised, pray and He will show you things outside your imagining.

  4. Rev. Eddie Tatro

    Beautiful song! I play games on Facebook!
    By the way you’re nominated for an award! http://bishoptatro.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/the-hug-award/

  5. prayingforoneday

    Feeling the love here. 🙂 Great award. well done! Both of you are the kind of people who deserve every award going. You also happen to be the two people I speak to from WordPress
    Two fantastic people I know I can call friends on Bloggerland. Also two people who Listen well to me on Skype, you both know what I mean.. Who will bite first.. lol

    Shaun x

Leave a Reply

