Under The Milky Way


Music moves me a lot. As I listen I can sometimes go back in time to significant times of my life. Music will always do this to me and for me. The song “Under The Milky Way ” by The Church has to be one of my favorites. It takes me back to my Uni days at USL for that is what it was called. What has triggered me to think about this song is that I had just heard it on Pandora and all the old memories came flooding back. I still treasure this song to this day but I seem to look at it in a whole new way.

When I lived in the United States, I was looking at the stars of the northern hemisphere never dreaming that one day I might actually be seeing the stars in the southern hemisphere. When people now say to me, “when I look up at the stars I know you are looking at the same ones I am”. The skeptic in me doubts it. Actually they probably aren’t especially if they live in the USA or Europe because they are in the northern hemisphere.

Adam and I travelled to Broome, Western Australia once because we were inspired by Di Morrissey’s book entitled “Tears Of The Moon”. At certain times of the year you can view the moon rising over the mudflats which is called the Staircase to the Moon because that is exactly what this optical illusion looks like. I was gazing up at the stars trying to find the Southern Cross but I couldn’t. Adam told me to go to an eco-tour that a man was offering so that maybe I could understand why I couldn’t see the Southern Cross. I did exactly that and learned that I couldn’t see the southern cross because I was too far north. I could see a few stars that I hadn’t been able to see because I was closer to the equator which cut off my ability to see the southern cross. I could do a blog just on that trip alone but I am using this to demonstrate about perspective. I couldn’t see my favourite southern hemisphere constellation because I was too far north just as the people saying that they are seeing the same stars I see at night probably are not.

Even though I may not be seeing the exact stars that others see, I am part of the milky way. We all are in our own special way. It’s how we interact with others on their destinations that can alter the path they are on. Sometimes I think things will go one way but they end up going exactly opposite. It could be for the better or the worse. I can choose which way to deal with the things that happen to me. I can try to make some one smile or laugh. I can try to console or show empathy. I can let them know just how much they mean to me or I can just let go of all the negativity that I may find. I know at times I falter and don’t do what I strive to do. Overall I pray and hope that I treat others the way I would want to be treated. If I think I have wronged them, I will apologize.

When I use to listen to “Under The Milky Way,” it made me think of my first love who broke my heart. I do hope that he has found what he was looking for. I know I have in the most unexpected way. If things had worked out the way I wanted, I would have never seen the Southern Cross. I would have only seen the perspective of the milky way from the northern hemisphere.

I also see this song spiritually as well but I do this sometimes with most songs. I have a tendency to see God in most things. I will write more about my spiritual belief later because that is another subject for another blog which I want to ponder over more before sharing.

Now I listen to this song and always think of something new. At this moment in time, I am happy that I have been blessed to see the Milky Way from 3 different perspectives. I wonder what other opportunities will be revealed to me under the milky way.

About yaussiechick

Dual citizen of Australia and America loving life and wanting to share my love of writing and life with others.

Posted on February 17, 2013, in Music, Narrative, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. That is so beautiful

    Peter Mercia phone 0296222217 mobile 0400777877

  2. WOW..
    That was an amazing read, thanks for sharing.
    And I got the meaning. I believe in God also, and so the same things. I look for meanings.

    You are a lucky girl. You are truly blessed.
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

